StoreVirtual Storage
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Share experience on 10GbE Upgrade on P4000 nodes...

CRiiser
Advisor

Share experience on 10GbE Upgrade on P4000 nodes...

Hi all,

 

We are about to upgrade our P4500 G2 8 of them to 10GbE. Been in contact with support on L2 and L3 and they both confim that you need to do an FULL shutdown of the management group prior upgrading the NICs..

 

OR

 

do it at your own risk....

 

So, prior doing our upgrade - I'm curiosly asking if anyone of you have had any experience with this and would like to share it?

 

Br, Christian

4 REPLIES
CRiiser
Advisor

Re: Share experience on 10GbE Upgrade on P4000 nodes...

Interestingly it seems noone has done this??? :-)

/C
Steve Burkett
Valued Contributor

Re: Share experience on 10GbE Upgrade on P4000 nodes...

Still stuck on only 1GbE here, but the 1GbE to 10GbE migration instructions  certainly seem to say you should shut down the management group before upgrading to 10GbE. Safety first!

CRiiser
Advisor

Re: Share experience on 10GbE Upgrade on P4000 nodes...

It does. I know..... :)

 

But really, can you shutdown your entire business......

 

Br, Christian

oikjn
Honored Contributor

Re: Share experience on 10GbE Upgrade on P4000 nodes...

if you can't afford a small scheduled downtime window then you realy need to have a 2nd management group as a DR site and if you have that, you can then seamlessly failover to the DR group, shut down the primary and do the upgrade and then fall back.

 

I get not wanting to shut everything down to make this upgrade, but I can see how its a major system change and that really should be done in a controlled (off) state.