108757 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Block traffic between specific vlans - Procurve 3500

SOLVED
Go to solution
Rob P_2
Occasional Advisor

Block traffic between specific vlans - Procurve 3500

This should be a fairly easy configuration...I am fairly new to the Procurve world, and all the ACE/ACL types and options are making my head hurt. I am attempting to only allow traffic from VLAN 200 to get to VLAN 1, with all traffic between 200 other VLANS denied.

VLAN 200 - 10.200.0.0 / 16 (public wireless)
VLAN 100 - 10.100.0.0 / 16 (internl systems)
VLAN 50 - 10.50.0.0 /16 (internal systems)
VLAN 1 - 10.1.0.1 /16 (next hop on way to the internet)

I am thinking I should be able to apply a rule to VLAN 200 allowing traffic to VLAN 1 and it should implicitly deny traffic to other VLANs...but I am not sure.

Alternatively, rules applied the internal VLANs to block incoming VLAN 200 traffic.

Whats the best way to do this? And can you give me some sample commands to enter on the switch?

Thanks!
10 REPLIES 10
Rob P_2
Occasional Advisor

I should add that the 3500 is the core switch for thsi network, it is handling routing between the all the varions VLANs...it should be the only place I need to add these rules.

Thanks again,
Pieter 't Hart
Honored Contributor

You need to create a RACL
>>> Routed IP Traffic ACL (RACL). An RACL is an ACL configured on a VLAN to filter routed IP traffic entering or leaving the switch on that interface.....<<<

NB this interface mentioned is NOT where the packet "internaly" moves to the other vlan, but the physical interface
("entering or leaving the switch" not "entering or leaving the vlan".)

so it will be a in-RACL on vlan 200 allowing only access to vlan1

ip access-list extended "acl-vl200-to-inet"
10 permit ip 255.255.255.255

vlan 200 ip access-group acl-vl200-to-inet in

An RACL does not filter within the vlan itself, so all hosts in vlan200 can still communicate.
Rob P_2
Occasional Advisor