New Discussion юеВ

Broadcast Storms and Fault-finder broadcast-storm sensitivity

SOLVED
Go to solution
joe_butler
Advisor

Broadcast Storms and Fault-finder broadcast-storm sensitivity

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to procurves and would like to know more about possible methods of eliminating broadcast storms.

I am currently forcing all user ports onto MDIX-MODE MDIX to stop people looping the switch either on the face or via two wall ports. It sounds silly but this has helped to reduce storms with our users.

I have also experimented with broadcast limits to help reduce the impact of a loop and give me more time to troubleshoot remotely. I have not been overly impressed with the results for two reasons.

1. The broadcast limit seems to 'refresh' meaning that every second or two it will cap it to the specified limit.
2. The loop still seems to cripple the system and instead of broadcast flooding the ports an unusaul ammount of unicast traffic leaks out.

Finally I have the procurve manager set to send me alerts when there are excessive broadcasts. These appear to be incredibally sensitive and get annoyed by printers, faxes, large quantities of DHCP requests etc.

I have experimented with:

fault-finder broadcast-storm sensitivity low

and by removing this line from the code. If someone knows the actuall thresholds for the fault-finder I would be interested to know.

ANYWAY AFTER THAT MARATHON! if your still reading then what im really after is ideas or suggestions from people who have managed to combat looping on procurve networks.

Thanks for reading,
Joe
4 REPLIES 4
Matt Hobbs
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: Broadcast Storms and Fault-finder broadcast-storm sensitivity

Hi Joe,

The two most effective features which will help prevent loops which cause your broadcast storms are spanning-tree, and loop-protect.

With these two features enabled, loops should be a thing of the past.

joe_butler
Advisor

Thanks Matt,