8535 Online
108806 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Can't enable IP Routing

Mike Zalamea
Occasional Contributor

Can't enable IP Routing

Hi all,

I'm a noob, so please be nice. I'm trying to setup 3 VLAN's on our 3400CL switch. I've logged into the IP Config menu in the command line. When I enable IP Routing, it asks me to enter the IP addy for the DNS server, but I can't type in any numbers in the field. We're currently using Bios Version: M.10.06, ROM I.08.11.

Thanks.
5 REPLIES 5
Colin Butcher
Esteemed Contributor

http://www.hp.com/rnd/software/switches.htm#3400cl lists the current firmware as M.10.41

ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/networking/software/3400cl-RelNotes-m1041-59914764.pdf lists all he fixes by version. Nothing obvious about what you describe, but there's been enough things fixed that I'd be very tempted to update the firmware.

ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/networking/software/6400-5300-4200-3400-AdvTrafficMgmt-Oct2006-59906051-Chap11.pdf describes setting up IP routing.

However, you will need to set up IP addressing first as described in ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/networking/software/6400-5300-4200-3400-MgmtCfg-Oct2006-59906050-Chap08.pdf - and you will need to do this the command line way rather than the "quick setup" way.

Of course, it shouldn't strictly need a DNS server address (what are you doing in the switch that will want the switch to resolve DNS names?), so it shouldn't matter anyway.

Cheers, Colin (http://www.xdelta.co.uk).
Entia non sunt multiplicanda praeter necessitatem (Occam's razor).
Mohieddin Kharnoub
Honored Contributor

Hi

Add to the previous post, enabling IP routing doesn't need a DNS entry.

Telnet or connect to your fantastic 3400 switch by console cable and follow these steps:

1- Make sure you have all the 3 Vlans have IP addresses assigned:
Switch# sh ip ***
this will list all the IPs assigned per Vlan in the switch.

2- Enable IP routing from the config. prompt:

Switch#config
Switch(config)#IP routing