Switches, Hubs, and Modems
1751691 Members
4891 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Configuring 7102dl

Sam Chhlang

Configuring 7102dl

I'm fairly new to networking so hopefully I can explain my problem so that you guys can understand. I'm trying to setup a 7102dl router to a T1 line. We have the T1 module installed. I also want to setup a DMZ for our web server. My question is, do I configure the T1 interface for internet access, the eth 0/1 interface for internal, and eth 0/2 for the DMZ? And to setup a DMZ, do I create a security zone for it? Also, will I have internet access by just using the firewall wizard through the web GUI? and do I need to create ACLs?
7 REPLIES 7
Mohieddin Kharnoub
Honored Contributor

Hi

Your scenario will be like this:

- Create a DMZ in security Zones.
- Configure the T1 interface for internet access.
- Configure DMZ to have one of the Ethernet interfaces.
- Configure the other Ethernet interface for your LAN.

You need now to configure firewall polices for these 3 Zones, so from LAN to Internet you can use the wizard.

I'm not sure if you can configure DMZ access through the firewall wizard also, so i think you should do it from the CLI.

I believe that VPN to DMZ can be configured by the VPN wizard.

Good Luck !!!

Science for Everyone
Olaf Borowski
Respected Contributor

Hi Sam,

Typically, you would use NAT to grant your "inside, secure" network access to the outside world. Using NAT (network address translation), only addresses from the inside network can access the outside (Internet). If you want people from the outside accessing servers on the inside, you have to create DMZs. Look at the documentation below for some examples.
ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/networking/software/ProCurve-SR-IP-Firewall-Config-Guide.pdf.
The DMZ will allow users from the Internet to access your servers, but they cannot get to your internal network. Typically mail and webserver would be in a DMZ.

Hope this helps,

Olaf

fernando sabio