108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Enable telnet access to router

SAM_24
Frequent Advisor

Enable telnet access to router

Hi,

I am new to cisco routers.

I want to allow telnet access to particular system/ip from outside(for all). How can I do it? Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.
Never quit
8 REPLIES 8
SAM_24
Frequent Advisor

Re: Enable telnet access to router

We are using Cisco 2950 series and no NAT.
Never quit
Ron Kinner
Honored Contributor

From the # (enable) login:

conf t
line vty 0 4
password MyNewPassword
login
end
wr me

I assume you already have an enable password.

Now telnet to one of the router's ip addresses and at the first password prompt use your equivalent of MyNewPassword. Then
en
and your enable password

Is that what you needed to know? Or are you wanting to restrict access to a certain IP address on the router?

Ron

Bharat Katkar
Honored Contributor

If you r talking about doing telnet to router then Ron is correct. You follow that procedure.
But if you talking about telnet to any particular Server in the network then you need to write the access-list on router.

What i understood is you want to enable telnet to particular nodes from the enitre network to connect to a particular System/Server.

If You r looking for something like that i can help u with creating access-list on server with your valuable inputs!!
You need to know a lot to actually know how little you know
Bharat Katkar
Honored Contributor

Sorry, in my last line i have mistakenly written "access-list on server", read it as "access-list on router"
Stuart Teo
Trusted Contributor

SAM,

The 2950 is a Catalyst switch. Please make sure that you have purchased the correct product before proceeding.
If a problem can be fixed, there's nothing to worry. If a problem can't be fixed, worrying ain't gonna help. Bottom line: don't worry.
Ron Kinner
Honored Contributor