Switches, Hubs, and Modems
1753861 Members
7517 Online
108809 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

HP 4108/4104 Port Trunking - only 1 port active?

SOLVED
Go to solution
M B Hartley

HP 4108/4104 Port Trunking - only 1 port active?

Hi there,

Got a 4 switch chain with various trunks configured:

Switch A
Trunk1
| |
| |
Trunk1
Switch B
Trunk2
| |
| |
Trunk2
Switch C
Trunk3
| |
| |
Trunk3
Switch D

The trunk from Switch A to Switch B works perfectly with both ports showing as active and with traffic going through them. The other trunks are only showing 1 port active each although STP shows the trunk is forwarding.

I have compared configurations through the telnet menu interface and all looks correct but I cannot get the other ports to light up on the remaining 2 trunks!

Any ideas please (btw I'm a bit of a newbie with these so go easy on me :D)
6 REPLIES 6
Matt Hobbs
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: HP 4108/4104 Port Trunking - only 1 port active?

By ports lighting up do you mean the activity light? I assume you are getting a link, just not seeing any activity on the other trunk link.

How many clients are you testing with? The reason that I ask is because the way the trunking load balancing works is by mac-address pairs.

If you have only 1 client on switch A and 1 client on switch D, only 1 link in each trunk will be utilised.

As soon as you introduce more clients which means more Souce Address / Destination Address pairs, you should see the other links start being used.
M B Hartley

Hi Matt,

Sorry - by lighting up I am referring to a connection light. If I look in the Port Status section of the switch it shows one port as Up and the other as Down.

Hadn't realised about the clients issue. I will go and check this now and see - thanks for that. I'll let you know how I get on.

Matt Hobbs
Honored Contributor

If you're not getting a link at all that's bad.... double check your cabling is the first thing I would do.
Mohieddin Kharnoub
Honored Contributor

Hi