7137 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HP PCM+ "Device already exists" error when adding non-HP equipment

Drew_38
Frequent Advisor

HP PCM+ "Device already exists" error when adding non-HP equipment

Dear all;

I've been running HP PCM+ for a few years now with little problems. 470+ HP devices are in there plus about 100 or so non-HP which PCM used to happily report the status of. When I was running version 2.2 an automatically downloaded patch, the number of which can't quite recall which, seemed to delete a lot of the non-HP devices from PCM. I was waiting for a new patch before I posted on here in case the problem was fixed. Just updated to version 2.3 and the problem still persists. I'll explain below.

Once I'd noticed a device (Cisco wireless AP) had vanished I tried to manually add using the manual discovery wizard. Some came back ok but with others PCM reported that "Device already exists. Do you want to delete and rediscover?". I noticed that, going back into the manual discovery wizard, the IP number of the device I was adding had changed. For instance I might try and add device 192.168.1.20, but when that failed I could go back into the wizard and the IP number would be 192.168.1.33, another device which was already added. Except of course I was adding a different device.

Now I may just take this moment to remind you all everything was working fine until PCM patched itself; I've not changed any SNMP configurations or anything. So it's nothing to do with the configuration of the network equipment in my opinion.