108795 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Help needed with Multiple Subnet's

SOLVED
Go to solution
CDN_Error_Repair
Occasional Contributor

Help needed with Multiple Subnet's

I will be the first to say I am not an networking expert. So I am here asking the experts. First some background on my problem.

3 x T1 therefore 3 subnets
10.1.30.1 as examples
5308xl switch w/3 VLAN's (one for each subnet)

Right now if I am on subnet 1 and want to copy something on a server on subnet 2 all the trafic goes out through our WAN and back in again. This is very very slow. IS there a way with the 5803 or Windows to allow all internal routes with those 3 subnets to not go thru the WAN but stay within the lan?

I hope this makes sense?
If you need more info just email. Thanks!
7 REPLIES 7
Mohieddin Kharnoub
Honored Contributor

Hi

First of all, its one simple command you enter it in the CLI ,

5308(Config)# ip routing

This will enable routing between vlans, which AS YOU MENTIONED, connected vlans and configured on the switch.

Second: give a default route for other unknown traffic like the Internet traffic:

(Config)# ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 a.b.c.d

Where a.b.c.d, is the IP address for the router you use to go to the internet.

These 2 commands will be enough for your 5308 to work.

If you need more help, then try to attach the configuration of your 5308, with a drawing of this part of the network to understand it better after removing your private info. from the configuration.

Here is an example of your network:
http://www.hp.com/rnd/support/config_examples/5300xl_portbase.pdf

Don't forget to assign points.

Good Luck !!!
Science for Everyone
CDN_Error_Repair
Occasional Contributor

I dont understand the IP route command. Obviously its done on the switch.

Do I do it for each gateway I have. We have a router for each subnet

Mohieddin Kharnoub
Honored Contributor
Solution