1745788 Members
3957 Online
108722 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Newbie - help with HP 2200d printer on a network

mtnbiker
Occasional Advisor

Newbie - help with HP 2200d printer on a network

Need some help - I am new to networking totally. I took over an old networked system and need to redo the network since the data ports were moved to a new location. I hoped it'd be plug and play. We had 5 computers printing off an HP 2200d before the move over. Now, I can't even get the main computer to print via the LAN.

I think the printer inout/output may be bad. This is what I know: Out of the computer LAN it goes to a switch. It has an 8 port Netgear switch. Where the LAN goes into the switch the LED is lit. The where the DSL plugs in, it's lit. Where the printer plugs in, it is not lit up. I have tried two different cables, many different ports (including the ones that light up for other devices). I am able to print on the printer directly using the USB or parallel connections bypassing the network.

I have installed and reinstalled the drivers. I have used the other HP disc to setup the network wihout success. The error comes up "can't find printer on this network".
I think the connection is bad, but I don't know how to prove it or isolate the cause. It was working before the move. Is there a way to tell if it is mechanical related to the printer's input/output? Should the LED light be light by the port for a printers connection? I am stuck and would appreciate any advise. Please keep it relatively simple. I have been reading up on pinging and such, but I think I need a more fundimental approach first. Thanks for your help!
9 REPLIES 9
Mohieddin Kharnoub
Honored Contributor

Hi

Apparently its not a hardware issue, but when you moved the IP addressing changed, so you have your PCs on different Subnet from the Printer.