108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: PCM+ 1.5 Noobie suggestions

SOLVED
Go to solution
Les Ligetfalvy
Esteemed Contributor

PCM+ 1.5 Noobie suggestions

I am new to the world of PCM+, having only a trial copy and am trying to wrap my mind around this to decide if it is worth the coin to license it.

Under Events, I cannot seem to set a filter that excludes only one that includes. For example, I am trying to reduce the noise by filtering out some but not all of the informational like "SNTP". I really don't need to be notified every time the clocks update. Maybe a future version could have rules to combine and replace alerts and the four rudimentary filters.

If someone clears the password by pushing the Clear button on a switch, it logs only as informational. I realize that it is the switch and not PCM that determines the severity, but I might suggest to the switch OS authors that this should at least be a warning.

10 REPLIES 10
SCOOTER
Esteemed Contributor

Les,

I believe that you can set that in the switch itself.

If someone can clear the PW on a switch then they have the authorisation to do so... I.o.w. I hope that your switches are secure and only accessable to the people who need to access them.

Scooter
Les Ligetfalvy
Esteemed Contributor

Scooter,
Thanks for the reply. I have not been able to find where in the switch OS that I can change the level of the event.
I also posed the question to Procurve Support and this is the answer they gave me:

Les,
One option you may want to consider is that you can set the 5300 to reboot when the clear button is pressed. This way no one can clear the passwords without the box going through a full reboot cycle. The thought behind this is that if this were to occur it would cause extra alerts on the network to let you know that something is happening. I will check into the exclusion/inclusion feature as you suggested.

Search as I may, I cannot find the "reboot on clear" feature either.