7435 Online
108795 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Passing VLANs through from Procurve 1800-24g to a netgear switch

K34nu
Occasional Visitor

Passing VLANs through from Procurve 1800-24g to a netgear switch

Hi all,

Hoping someone will be able to help with this. I have a HP Procurve 1800-24G as my main switch and i'm looking to daisy chain in another 5 port switch (Netgear GS305E) and pass through the VLANs aswell. I'm still pretty new to VLANs so please excuse my lack of understanding. 

From what i've been reading, Trunking on the Procurve is basically link aggregation, so that's no help to me. However everywhere else seems to use trunking as a VLAN term? I believe trunking is essentially what i'm looking to do here. 

I did read on the help files the following: 

"Switches should be connected to each other with Packet Type set to Tagged and PVID set to "None." However sadly that doesn't seem to have worked either. I've been on a support chat with netgear and they've confirmed that it's all setup correctly on their switch, so it's just the passing through part from the Procurve that's causing issues now.

Any help would be appreciated,

Thanks,
Kind regards,

3 REPLIES 3
parnassus
Honored Contributor

Hi! the trunking terminology you are referring to is almost Cisco biased...and, at the same time, one can tell you the exact contrary...that HP is misusing a well known terminology used for characterizing VLANs memberships.

HP ProCurve uses, as you can easily image, the HP way: Port Trunking means Links Aggregation (EtherChannel in Cisco slang, Bonding/Teaming when using common servers related terminology), the "Cisco" Trunking becomes "VLAN Tagging" in HP slang.

So what you really need here is VLAN Tagging: untag (and tag) a port to be member of a specific VLAN Id...a port can be an Untagged member of only one VLAN ID (generally that is called PVID Port VLAN ID) and, concurrently, that very same port can be Tagged member of one or more VLAN IDs.