1748158 Members
4046 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Question about branch office

jeffaz
Occasional Advisor

Question about branch office

I am setting up a branch office about two blocks away from the main office. The main office has Windows 2000 server AD and exchange server 2000 with other servers. The branch office will have a Cisco ASA5505 firewall, HP 24 port switch, I want the branch office to use main office exchange for email and also be part of main office windows domain. Setting up a site to site vpn to make this happen. I am new to VLAN's, so my question is could I set up a vlan with two Procurve 2626 switch so that the branch office would be on a vlan and be part of the windows domain so they could communicate with main office? Putting them on the same or different subnet, there will be 10 windows XP pro PC'S at branch office.
7 REPLIES 7
Jonathan Axford
Trusted Contributor

I would say that it depends on what connection you are going to have between the main office and the branch.

If it will be an ADSL/Broadband connection i would set the branch office up as a seperate subent and use th ASA to route between the two. That way, only traffic that needs to go to the main site will be sent over the VPN.

I set something very similar up using a Cisco PIX 515 to terminate the VPNs and Cisco 800 series ADSL routers at the remote sites, i then had HP2524's to connect the extra devices at the remote sites.

Where there is a will there is a way...
jeffaz
Occasional Advisor

Both offices have a T1. Can I use the HP2626's to create a vlan to put remote office on a different subnet but they will still be on AD domain as main office and use resources like my file server, would I need an additional router for this?
Jonathan Axford
Trusted Contributor

I would go for a seperate router and just use the 2600's as access layer switches.