Switches, Hubs, and Modems
1752796 Members
5909 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Remove VLANs on 4000m (4 switches on Network)

Susan M. Beebe

Remove VLANs on 4000m (4 switches on Network)

I've got a multi-site network with multiple HP ProCurve 4000m Switches and I want to ** remove all of the VLANs ** off of our network.

We've got two networks (2 separate campuses) that are routed by 2 Cisco 2620 Rourters over a private T-1 line.

I plan on going from static IPs to DHCP, so I will also need to widen our subnet mask from 255.255.255.0 --> 255.255.0.0.

I need help figuring this all out.

First, i want to change the subnet mask, so the DHCP part will work (Windows Server will manage DHCP services).

Next, i'd like to remove the VLANS so the network is all one big network.

I know the Cisco Routers also have VLAN ACLs on them. I will need to remove the info, or at least change the gateway IP.

I need specific examples of how to implement this as i am new to this concept.

Also, I currently modify the HP ProCurve 4000m switches (we have 4 total) via the web browser interface, however i am not sure how i will do this once the VLANs are removed.
For example, I access the configuration web page by typing in http:\\192.168.x.2 (x = the VLAN segment IP), such as 192.168.4.2 for the "4" VLAN, and 192.168.5.2 for the "5" VLAN.

Once the VLANs are gone, HOW DO I ACCESS THE WEB CONFIGURATION PAGE??

--> What is 4000m's the default web browswer interface (i.e. configuration web page)?

So, i need specific details on how to remove all the VLANs (HP configs & Cisco) and also how to access the HP 4000m config. web page once the VLANs are gone.

Thanks!
Susan

5 REPLIES 5
siddhartha_chadda

you can telnet into the switch to remove vlan's. you will need to create your larger vlan first. assign all ports to the new vlan then remove the old vlan. make sure your telnet session is not on the vlan you are removing.
Susan M. Beebe