1753474 Members
4711 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Routing / VLAN / Subnet Questions

CDN_Error_Repair
Occasional Contributor

Routing / VLAN / Subnet Questions

I will be the first to say I am not an networking expert. So I am here asking the experts. First some background on my problem.

5 x T1 therefore subnets 5 subnets / gateways

These are example IP's obviously

See my quick network drawing.

Right now if I am on subnet 1 and want to copy something on a server on subnet 2 all the trafic goes out through our WAN and back in again. This is very very slow. IS there a way with the 5308 or Windows to allow all internal routes with those 3 subnets to not go thru the WAN but stay within the lan?

I hope this makes sense?
If you need more info just email. Thanks!
4 REPLIES 4
CDN_Error_Repair
Occasional Contributor

Re: Routing / VLAN / Subnet Questions

Here is the drawing.

Its a basic drawing..
Mohieddin Kharnoub
Honored Contributor

Hi

I think you already posted something similar before a week maybe.

Did that solution works for you ?

Anyway, after looking to the map , i have some questions in regards.

1- If i'm in Vlan 117 , or 47 or 41 or 34 , how can i get Internet Conenction ? do you have another router connected to the 5308 or the switch but its not in the drawing?

2- There is no such a switch 5804 ????

3- Enabling IP Routing on each switch is More than Enough to route between the Vlans without going outside.

4- Based on your Drawing, Adding a Default static route to each switch will help to connect to the internet. but its not clear which router can get you outside to the internet.

5- What kind of routers you have there ? some routers don;t support NAT for mutiple subbnets.

I hope these information are helpfull for you, and we are waiting for previous information.

Good Luck !!!

Science for Everyone
CDN_Error_Repair
Occasional Contributor

Thanks for the reply and help.

Each of the switch and vlans has its own router