1752777 Members
6357 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Routing on the 2650 Switch

Mark Wylie_1
Occasional Advisor

Routing on the 2650 Switch

Hi All, i'm new to this kit so any halp would me greatly appreciated...

I am working on a network which has outgrown its numbering scheme.
It currently uses a 192.9.200.0/24 address block, the reason why is undocumented.
The network is about to hit the buffers and run out of IP addresses.

I propose to renumber the clients and leave the servers as they are to avoid all the hassle with reconfiguring the client applications with new server IP addresses. The department is very underresourced and the network is lmost wholly undocumented so I would have to audit all the applications and plan a big project to reconfigure them on my own but I only have a couple of weeks here.

The servers are all plugged into a NETGEAR GS748T switch and the clients are plugged into a single Procurve 2650 and three Procurve 2626 switches.

I was thinking I might be able to
- Leave the servers on the Netgear switch with all ports tagged as VLAN1 and using 192.9.200.0/24 network addresses.
- Stack the Procurves together and tag all ports as VLAN2
- Tag one of the GBNIC ports on the procurves as VLAN1
- Assign IP addresses to VLAN1 and VLAN2
- Set a static route on the Procurve stack from VLAN2 to VLAN1

Is this feasible and if so how do I go about it?

Any suggestions would be a great help, otherwise I'll have to commit them to shelling out for an expensive GB router or stick a computer in the middle to do the routing.
12 REPLIES 12
Mark Wylie_1
Occasional Advisor

Re: Routing on the 2650 Switch

Forgot to mention, I intend to use a 192.168.16.0/20 numbering scheme for the clients.
Mark Wylie_1
Occasional Advisor

Please, somebody help... I can't even find the command in the manual to ENABLE the IP Routing feature!
Martin_251
Occasional Advisor

Hi Mark,

Perhaps this helps a bit.