Switches, Hubs, and Modems
1752311 Members
5747 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Stacking

lisamiller0019

Stacking

I'm new to Procurve switches and also to the concept of stacking switches. I'm also new at my current company so I have inherrited 4 Procurve switches that were already in a stack. The commander is a 2610 and its members are 2601's and one 2810. We're putting in a VMware environment with a SAN along with 2 new 2810 switches. I added the 2 switches to the existing stack and then created trunks across the 2 switches.

My first question is: Do you have to stack the switches before you can trunk ports across them? (i.e. is one a feature enabled by the other)

But my bigger problem is something very strange. The first 2 ESX servers I configured are working perfectly with trunks and VLANs across the 2 switches. The third however has a strange problem. The controllers on my SAN will not talk to any odd numbered IP addresses but they will talk to even numbered IP addresses. E.g I have 2 virtual NICs on the same VLAN as my SAN controllers and I cannot ping the odd numbered one but I can pinf the even numbered one. If I swap the cables over on the NICs my controller can then ping the even number IP but not the odd.

The third ESX server was created using a VMware profile so the virtual networking is exaclty the same as the 1st and 2nd. I've tripple checked the switch config (trunking, LAN, physical cabelling) with a colleague and it all looks the same there too. The only think I can think of is that the Commander is a different model than the 2 new switches so I am thinking of splitting them out in to their own stack.

Can anyone confirm whether I will loose my trunk & VLAN config by removing the switches from one stack and then adding them to another?
5 REPLIES 5
Mohammed Faiz
Honored Contributor

Hi,

I haven't played with stacking much but I don't believe that stacking allows you to run trunks across seperate switches.