4647 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

VLAN Setup - Basic Questions

Dale Magnant
Occasional Advisor

VLAN Setup - Basic Questions

Hello,

I am new to VLANs and am hoping someone can help me with a few questions regarding VLAN setup on the 2650 series switches. I've read through the HP documentation and done some experimenting, and remain confused on several points, particularly on the matter of assigning IP addresses to VLANs.

Presently I have four 2650's and a Netgear GSM7224 all tied together serving a single LAN 10.10.10.0/24. (One of the 2650s is located in another building connected by fiber) The gateway (10.10.10.1) for this network is the LAN port of a Sonicwall firewall which in turn connects to our outbound router. Most systems on the LAN have fixed IPs, though laptops are served by the firewall's DHCP. The four 2650's and one Netgear are as follows;

2650 Switch#1 IP=10.10.10.101
2650 Switch#2 IP=10.10.10.102
2650 Switch#3 IP=10.10.10.103
2650 Switch#4 IP=10.10.10.104
Netgear Switch#5 IP=10.10.10.105

Question:
My primary point of confusion concerns the relation of the IP configuration of the primary VLAN to the IP configuration of any subsequent VLANs.

For example, on the IP configuration page of my first 2650, I have a management IP of 10.10.10.101/24 and a gateway IP of 10.10.10.1. So, since a VLAN is by definition its own broadcast domain, can I use any addressing I want for a secondary VLAN, or am I bound in some way by the IP configuration of the primary VLAN? That is, lets say I wanted a second VLAN with IP 10.10.9.0/24 and I have an additional gateway of 10.10.9.1 configured on the Sonicwall - would the 2650 have any problem with this?

Question:
Could I create a VLAN with the same addressing, 10.10.10.0/24, as my primary VLAN? Could these two VLANs share the same gateway? Can any two VLANs share the same gateway?

Question: