4588 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

VLAN config problem on HP25xx switches

Walter Kiczko
Occasional Advisor

VLAN config problem on HP25xx switches

Hi Guys,

I was browsing some threads about multiple VLANs on the 25xx family and read something discouraging about the swtich not being able to handle level 3 traffic. I'm no network engineer, so I hope someone here can help me out.

At our school, we're running Novell with IPX enabled for all the PC's in the administrative offices and the student dorms. On the same switches and architecture we're running several large MAC OS X non-appletalk labs. we also have HP4050 printers, with ethertalk off.

A friend recently told us we're running a flat network which to the best of my understanding everything can arp, ping, and broadcast to each other on our 255.0.0.0 subnet. All machines are either DHCP or static IP in the 10.x.x.x range, including our II400 Nortel gateway, which goes out to our Cisco, and then to the T1.

The main problem we're seeing is very slow network speeds everywhere, especially on the MAC network which uses Workgroup Manager to send user prefs over the network whenever someone logs on in a lab across campus.

I tried to set up a couple Vlans on the test bench, but as someone mentioned in another thread the new vlan, could not get to the internet (in my case, our novell server), while the ports on DEFAULT_VLAN for the MAC OS X network worked fine. I made sure the uplink port (we used 24) was set for both VLANs one tagged one untagged, and the same settings on the other 25xx switch we had set up on the table to simulate a small version of our live network which uses 25's, 4000's and an 8000M.

If in fact we cannot set up VLANs to seperate the Novell IPX and the Mac OS X server chatter, what can we do as far as ABC control, or setting individual port broadcast limits?