7765 Online
108809 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: VLAN configuration

SOLVED
Go to solution

VLAN configuration

Hi all,
i'm quite new in configuring Switches and I have some "basic" questions about filtering.
If somebody can answer my questions or indicate some good documentation...
My switch is an HP 4104GL and I want to implement some rules on the ports of the switch. For example, a port can communicate with all the other ports except a list of ports, an another port can only communicate with a list of ports...
Is it the purpose of VLANs ?
If yes, what is 802.1 Q VLAN ID ? what is the meaning of port modes (No, Tagged, Untagged, forbid) ?
Thanks for your help.
3 REPLIES 3
Ron Kinner
Honored Contributor
Solution

Sounds to me like you could use Isolated Port Groups but unfortunately I don't think that feature is offered on your switch.

VLANs will allow ports to only talk to other ports in the same VLAN. Talking between VLANs requires routing (which your 4104 offers with the latest release but which doesn't do any filtering.)

The default VLAN has ID of 1. When you first turn on a switch all ports are in VLAN 1. You can create other VLANs and give them separate ID numbers. ID numbers are just integers from 1 to some limit which I don't remember. Maybe as high as 4096.

After creating a vlan then you assign ports to it and tell it whether they should be tagged or untagged. Unless you are connecting up another switch via a trunk or a VLAN aware server you use untagged and you only put a port in one vlan. Tagged means that you use 802.1Q tagging to add the vlan id to each packet and is used for multiple VLAN traffic. It requires that the other end understands VLANs and is able to sort them out and respond with the correct tags.

vlan 2 name test2
vlan 2 untagged 13-24