New Discussion юеВ

Re: VLANs Across Switches With LACP Trunks

SOLVED
Go to solution
wtu
Occasional Advisor

VLANs Across Switches With LACP Trunks

Hi There,

I'm new to the HP Procurve world. Could anyone help me on configuring Procurve 2848 switches with VLANs across multiple switches and LACP trunks presence? I couldn't find any examples from manuals. Below is the situation:

There are three 2848 switches (A,B,C) with three VLANS (VLAN 1, VLAN 100, VLAN 200). A has four ports configured as LACP Trk1 connecting to B (as Dyn1 showing on B). B has two ports configured as LACP Trk2 connecting to C (as Dyn3 showing on C). The IP routing is enabled on A but not on B or C. Trunking ports are tagged.

Before I configured LACP trunking, routing and VLANs seemed to work fine since pinging from workstation on one VLAN to another workstation on another VLAN worked.

However, after I configured trunking, the pinging connectivity broke. Is there any examples? Thanks!
18 REPLIES 18
Jody_Greene
Occasional Advisor

I would recommend not using LACP due to the fact that you are only using HP ProCurve switches.

Without seeing your configs, I would compare the below configs with yours.

Switch A
ip routing
interface 1
no lacp
interface 2
no lacp
interface 3
no lacp
interface 4
no lacp
trunk 1-4 Trk1 Trunk
vlan 1
tagged Trk1
ip address 1.1.1.1/24
exit
vlan 100
tagged Trk1
ip address 1.1.100.1/24
exit
vlan 200
tagged Trk1
ip address 1.1.200.1/24
exit

Switch B
ip default-gateway 1.1.1.1
interface 1
no lacp
interface 2
no lacp
interface 3
no lacp
interface 4
no lacp
interface 5
no lacp
interface 6
no lacp
trunk 1-4 Trk1 trunk
trunk 5-6 Trk2 trunk
vlan 1
tagged Trk1-Trk2
exit
vlan 100
tagged Trk1-Trk2
exit
vlan 200
tagged Trk1-Trk2
exit

Switch C
ip default-gateway 1.1.1.1
interface 1
no lacp
interface 2
no lacp
trunk 1-2 Trk1 Trunk
vlan 1
tagged Trk1
exit
vlan 100
tagged Trk1
exit
vlan 200
tagged Trk1
exit

Matt Hobbs
Honored Contributor