New Discussion юеВ

Re: VLANs, Routing, Gateways + Rules?

SOLVED
Go to solution
Shaun Neighbour
Advisor

VLANs, Routing, Gateways + Rules?

Hi All

I'm a complete noob as far as VLANs are concerned - I've been reading everything I can find, but every time I find a "solution" it seems to come with a new problem..........

I'm the network admin for a school. The school is constantly expanding by around 100 workstaions per year (900 at the moment) and I think it's time to give my nice procurve switches something to do......

At the moment I've pretty much got a flat network - I do have a couple of VLANS, but these are completely seperate to the rest of the network, so were problem free.

My initial plan was to divide the network up into around 30 VLANS - A couple foe the differnt types of server, and then dividing workstations into logical groups. Student workstations would only have access to the workstations on their vlan and their servers, Staff workstations would have access to both staff and student servers, IT Support would have access to everything, and everyone would have internet access.

But when it came to planning the implementation, the scale of the task astounded me. Adding 30 IP addresses and 30 VLANs to each server......... you get the idea.

I then watched some Cisco videos on inter-VLAN routing - a quick phone call to Procurve tech support confirmed that my core switches (3400cl) could do this gave me hope that this project wasn't doomed.

But as with everything I've discovered about VLANs, nothing is that simple or straightforward. By enabling routing, i'd essentially be making the VLAN implementation pointless. I know there would be some benefits, but they wouldn't really justify the increased complexity or time taken to implement. Also the DHCP config for this scenario scares the **** out of me......