108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Weird network printer problem

SOLVED
Go to solution
Jeff_Traigle
Honored Contributor

Weird network printer problem

I've been fighting this issue for a few weeks now. The guy I've been filling in for worked on it for several months last year.

They have an IBM InfoPrint 32 Network Printer. The IBM Network Printer software (current version 3.1) is installed on two HP-UX 11.00 systems. The application resides on HostA. Trying to print from HostA directly to the printer results in longer print jobs not completing. (Our test case is 100 pages and it considtently stops at page 90.) If we setup the queue as a remote queue on HostB, the print job completes. HostB has the same version of IBM NP software installed. I even installed the current patch bundle we've tested so the OS patches are all at the same revisions as of last week. I noticed the MTU was set to 1450 on HostA (because of some client VPN connectivity issues, I'm told), whereas HostB was left at the default 1500. I was skeptical the smaller MTU had anything to do with the problem and a test of changing it to 1500 as it is on HostA failed to resolve the printing problem.