Switches, Hubs, and Modems
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

changing community string names

michael moir
Advisor

changing community string names

I am concerened by the warning in the ProCurve help which says that if "public" is set to the "Operator" MIB View and the "Restricted" Write
Access, SNMP threshold setting and VLAN configuration
capabilities will be lost.
2 REPLIES
Les Ligetfalvy
Esteemed Contributor

Re: changing community string names

What are you trying to say? The topic is about changing the community string "names" but then later you talk about changing the roles, not the name.

You can change the names just so long as you allow the proper roles.

So then what is it, are you changing the names or the roles?
michael moir
Advisor

Re: changing community string names

sorry for the inaccurate subject entry, my question involves the settings.