Switches, Hubs, and Modems
1752812 Members
5812 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: new vlan setup questions?

sanchlehl1

new vlan setup questions?

Let me start by saying that I'm extremely new to setting up vlans and routing. With that said let me give you some info on what we have and what we are trying to do.
Our network consists of 1 netscreen25. 3 HP Procurve 2650's, 1 Procurve 2650-PWR, and 1 HP Procurve 4000M. All the switches are stacked, but they also have their own IP as a backup for access. They are all connected in series using ports 49 & 50. The 4000M has 1 gigabit card and it is at the end of the series.
Currently, there is 1 vlan , the default_vlan, setup on all the switches and all the ports are part of it.
Our goal is to have a guest/public vlan separate from our network. In other words, we have a bunch of ports that we want for visitors to be able to plug in and surf the internet, without accessing any resources on our private lan.
I've been trying to do some reading on these forums and other places to get info, but I seem to just end up with more questions.

one of my questions is what would be easier, port based 802.1q vlans or 802.1x using radius (microsoft ias)? The ports that we want on the public vlan are in a conference room and training area, so we will almost never have to change them back to a private vlan.

also, we have a win2k3 dhcp server. In order to hand out ip addresses to the public vlan, if i understand right, i have to use the ip helper-address. do i need routing enabled? what else do i need enabled? does routing have to be enabled on all the switches or just the one with the internet connection? we would like to use 1 internet connection for both vlans if possible.
If anyone can give me some insight on how to go about this and any caveats that i may need to watch out for i would greatly appreciate it.
5 REPLIES 5
Mohieddin Kharnoub
Honored Contributor

Hi