1748069 Members
5574 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Added a new disk, How to see it ?

amreek bansal
Frequent Advisor

Added a new disk, How to see it ?

Hi . We have added an additional disk (so it can be used for swap). I havent rebooted the server, my question is this, in solaris I would run devfsadm to pick up the new disk, what are the steps to firstly see the new disk and to start using it ? What device name wouldit have? Thanks..
16 REPLIES 16
Tingli
Esteemed Contributor

# ioscan -fnC disk
# insf -e
# ioscan -funC disk
amreek bansal
Frequent Advisor

hi tinqli, thanks for the reply. I will run these commands, but i have a question, the disk which i've added, I take it is hotswappable, so no need to reboot ? and from the commands you gave, how would i identify the new disk (device name i.e c0t0d0..) which has been added ? as i dont want to mess up and choose the wrong one. Sorry if its basic question, i am new to hp-ux, although i know solaris well. pls explain..
thanks..
Tingli
Esteemed Contributor

You can run # ioscan -funC disk first. This one won't show the new disks yet. Then you run # ioscan -fnC disk (which doesn't have the u), it shows up the new disks.
Michael Steele_2
Honored Contributor

Not the same with adding in swap disks. Swap is apart of the O/S and I believe you'll need the -B option in pvcreate. You will definietly need the -C for continuous option in lvcreate. Here's the basic procedure.

Check to see if maxswapchunks is set high
# pvcreate -B /dev/dsk/c#t#d# (* verify this*)
# lvcreate -C y -L 300 -n swap /dev/vg00
# swapon -p 2 /dev/vg00/swap
vi /etc/fstab
/dev/vg00/swap ... swap pri=2 0 0
Support Fatherhood - Stop Family Law
Bijeesh
Respected Contributor

hi
The ioscan output contains any disk with S/W state UNCLAIMED means no associated software found.
To this disk H/W path you can run #insf -H (get from ioscan o/p)
you can also run
#pvdisplay /dev/dsk/c#t#d# to confirm that the disk is not to your VGs.
Patrick Wallek