108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: CDE problem

SOLVED
Go to solution
James Mueller
Occasional Advisor

CDE problem

I just bought a 715/100, 64mb 2gig, cd machine to learn on, with v11 software.

the problem is, i cant log on using the cde - the machine thinks a while, and goes back to the cde logon. so i logon via a prompt, no problem.

I have modified .profile and .dtprofile with

DISPLAY=Socrates:0.0
export DISPLAY

this doesn't seem to work - sam boots is terminal mode. if i enter the above two lines at a prompt, and then run sam, i get:

the DISPLAY environment variable is set to "socrates:0.0", but the current configuration won't allow sam to run on that display.

... by typing /usr/bin/X11/xhost +Socrates

(obviously the machine is named socrates)

when i type the xhost +Socrates, i get unable to open display "socrates:0.0"

i am new to unix, and am trying to learn it, but i am having a hard time finding enough entry level stuff to configure the machine with.

any help is much appreciated. the machine does see my local network - i can ping my firewall and other computers, so the network part seems ok.

thanks
4 REPLIES 4
Alex Glennie
Honored Contributor

OK ... there could be a number of reasons for this :

It sounds as if the Xserver is starting fine, otherwise you wouldn't see the CDE login screen ! So ...

Check the following : /var/dt/Xerrors (Xservers Log file)
/var/adm/syslog/syslog.log
/etc/rc.log
$HOME/.dt/startlog & errorlogs, consider adding set -x into your .dtprofile, you'll get more info in startlog !

I'd also remove the DISPLAY setting in the .profile & .dtprofile to avoid confusion, i don't think it's a good idea to set them anyway, as if networking & hostname resolution are OK, the system should work it out for itself.

Run the CDE diagnostic tool : dr_dt & make sure you're patched for latest CDE/Motif and Xserver Patches.