108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Console Login Issue

SOLVED
Go to solution
HPUX-newbie
Occasional Advisor

Console Login Issue

I'm new to HP-UX.  I have a couple of versions setup (11i v1 and 11i V2) for testing purposes.  I didn't realize that I couldn't use "@" in my password and login via the Console.  I was able to change my password on my V2 system as I already had SSH installed, but I am not able to on my V1 system.  I've tried to Telnet in, but can't login that way either.

Any ideas how to get in and change the password?  Talk about learning pain!

Thanks!  Cheers...

9 REPLIES 9
Bill Hassell
Honored Contributor

This is a very old restriction based on the teletype console heritage. The @ character is the line cancel, and the # character is used to erase characters. Coupled with the default baud rate (300 baud for serial ports except the console), these archaic settings still continue to be the defaults. You'll need to add this line to inittab:

ttco::bootwait:/sbin/stty intr ^C erase ^H kill ^U < /dev/ttyconf  # set backspace and @ correctly

Now when the system reboots, the special meaning for # and @ will be removed. But this is also an important lesson in interoperability between operating systems, especially passwords and filenames. Special characters are very bad choices for passwords and filenames. There's no industry standard for these characters (including spaces) so it is always prudent to avoid special characters if you have to manage multiple systems (any flavor of Unix, any version of Windows, MPE, OpenVMS, etc).