cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DST Effect on RHEL4.0

 
girishb
Frequent Advisor

DST Effect on RHEL4.0

Hi,

We have RHEL 4.0 Server on GFS and Oracle database is running on it.

We implemented DST Patch last month successfully; and when we checked time on tghe server on April 1st 2007 it changed as per old DST standards. We had to manually change the time.

Any idea why did it happen like that?
Message file does not reveal any thing with regard to time...

Please suggest?

Girish

2 REPLIES
Steven E. Protter
Exalted Contributor

Re: DST Effect on RHEL4.0

Shalom,

It would be helpful to know what time zone you are in.

My US based systems (Centos(rh-clone)4.4 updated with no problems after a normal yum update. My Israel based systems updated as well, so knowing what the time zone is the first step.

SEP
Steven E Protter
Owner of ISN Corporation
http://isnamerica.com
http://hpuxconsulting.com
Sponsor: http://hpux.ws
Twitter: http://twitter.com/hpuxlinux
Founder http://newdatacloud.com
girishb
Frequent Advisor

Re: DST Effect on RHEL4.0

Hi Steven,

Will this help by any means..

$ date
Fri Apr 6 11:45:26 EDT 2007

$ /usr/sbin/zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep 2007
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 06:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 07:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 05:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 EDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-14400
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 06:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 EST isdst=0 gmtoff=-18000

Thanks
Girish