cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Disk replacement question

Waqar Razi
Regular Advisor

Disk replacement question

I am a remote unix administrator and we have a customer whose vg00 hard disk (c0t6d0) failed. This disk is mirrored to another disk (C3t2d0)on the server and the disk is hot swapable.

The server is RP 7410 and the disk is hot swapable.
The problem I am having here the server is not properly labelled and the customer is unable to find the failing disk (c0t6d0).

Is there any way that you can point out physically which disk is failing by sending some commands or signals. THe disk does not have yellow light on. I dont want that some one pulled the wrong disk (working disk ) out and crush the whole system.

Any help in this regard is highly appreciated.
7 REPLIES
R.K. #
Honored Contributor

Re: Disk replacement question

Hi Waqar,

# ioscan -funC disk

Check the hardware path.
See if it helps as vg00 mostly have internal disks.

Regds,
R.K.
Don't fix that what ain't broke
24 7
Occasional Advisor

hi,

you can give a dd command as

dd if=c0t6d0 of=/dev/null bs=1024

then tell the local person to look for the bhysical disk LED activity .. so that he can identify the most blinking HDD.

Rgds.
24/7
Happy are those conscious About their Spiritual need.
Patrick Wallek
Honored Contributor

>>then tell the local person to look for the
>>bhysical disk LED activity .. so that he can
>>identify the most blinking HDD.

And how is this supposed to work if the disk is dead? If the disk isn't working dd will likely just hang.
Henry Fauni
Valued Contributor

If the disk is not completely dead, you can try the dd command:

dd if=/dev/dsk/c0t6d0 of=/dev/null bs=2048k

This will light up the LED solid on the disk in question. Ctrl C to get out.

lssf /dev/rdsk/c0t6d0 will give you H/W path. HP CE's should be able to figure out where it is physically if you give them H/W path.