New Discussion юеВ

EVA lun path question

SOLVED
Go to solution
David P Lavoie
Frequent Advisor

EVA lun path question

Hello everyone,

I'm still learning my way through HP UX and I got a questions for you guys. We're setting up our environment right now with an rx6600 Itanium with 11.31 and EVA 6100. All my luns are showing 8 paths, 4 active and 4 standby. All active paths are getting on the same controller but using different fabric.

Why there's 4 paths on standby. Is there a way to use all 8 of them (if it's recommended)? If not, can I change the active path used to balance it on both controller?

I must specify that no preferred path is configured on the EVA or on the lun. You'll find attached to this post the result of scsimgr get_info all_lpt -D /dev/rdisk/disk118 (one of the SAN lun)

Thank you to everyone...
7 REPLIES 7
TTr
Honored Contributor

Re: EVA lun path question

Typically with dual controller arrays and dual fabric set-ups the number of active and standby paths is the same. As to why you have 4 it has to do with the zoning and your fabric setup.
You should use all 8 paths for each device. In most cases though if a failure occurs multiple paths will disappear at the same time.
> All active paths are getting on the same controller but using different fabric.

Not sure what you are saying here but you should ensure that i/o is balanced on both (all) server HBAs by splitting the active paths to both (all) server HBAs. Or use the new disk management that is available with HP-UX 11.31
Paul Maglinger
Regular Advisor

I don't have the details of your fabric, but I believe at most you should see 4 paths, not 8. You might want to check how your virtual disks are presented from your EVA to your server.
David P Lavoie
Frequent Advisor

Ok, I'm going to clarify what we have. The SAN is connected on a director switch, which is divided into 2 virtual switch. The server got to 2 HBAs of 2 ports, each HBA got 1 port connected on fabric A and one on fabric B.