New Discussion

Re: GRUB - Need command to install BOOTSTRAP

SOLVED
Go to solution
tony j. podrasky
Valued Contributor

GRUB - Need command to install BOOTSTRAP

Hello Everyone;

I just installed Fedora 16 (which is only SLIGHTLY less disgusting to work with than Unbuntu). Talk about a bloated O/S! Single-user has more processes running than my RHE-3.4 does when in INIT 5. It should be called: Linux - the U.S. Airport Security Version!

I've run Linux since the early 90's thru RHE 2003 and they were pretty-much all the same but the new utilities are quite different and I'm having a battle getting a hold on them.

[So, Tony - tell us how you REALLY feel about the new Linux?]  :-)

Anyway,

I have a 2 master drives in the host. One has a full version of F-16, the other only the necessary files/utilities to get it up and running.

The bootstrap is only on one drive. I want to copy it to the other drive so I can select either one and boot from it.

I've been all over the GRUB manual and I can't find an example of the command line I need to do that.

I have the /boot/grub2/grub.cfg file but don't know how to invoke GRUB to read it and then write it to disk.

Would someone be so kind as to give me an example of how to do that.

If someone could recommend a book that will take me thru an IN-DEPTH education of F-16, that would be great!

regards,

tony j. podrasky

REMEMBER: Once you eliminate your #1 problem, #2 gets a promotion.
3 REPLIES 3
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor
Solution

With modern hardware, I must ask: are you using traditional PC boot sequence, or the new-fangled UEFI system? (With /boot/grub2/grub.conf, I guess you're using the traditional boot sequence.)