5258 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion

HP Proliant DL785 G6 Server

arunbasu
Occasional Contributor

HP Proliant DL785 G6 Server

Hi,

I am a Linux Admin, I have  installed Redhat 6.1 Linux os on  HP Proliant DL785 G6 Server , when server is booting I have noticed few errors. Could you help me please how should I recover these errors. Plesae go through below attached file , where contents all error. Thanks

Arun Basu

3 REPLIES 3
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Re: HP Proliant DL785 G6 Server

[Firmware Bug]: the BIOS has corrupted hw-PMU resources (MSR c0010000 is 430076)

- As it says, this is a BIOS firmware bug. Check your BIOS version and see if updated versions are available from HP for your server model, then update if possible.

-----------------

ERST: Can not request iomem region <.....> for ERST.

- ERST is the persistent storage for critical error messages. Linux would use it for storing Machine Check Errors because writing to disk is not guaranteed to be successful when a MCE happens. This could make it easier to troubleshoot MCE errors.

ERST only works with compatible hardware, and apparently this kernel does not know how to make it work on yours. This is not critical, but updating to a newer kernel version and/or BIOS firmware might fix this.

------------------

rport-x:y-z: blocked FC remote port time out: removing rport

- This might indicate FibreChannel communication issues. Check with SAN admins.

------------------

schedule_timeout: wrong timeout value fffff......

This is a known issue if you have a large number of LUNs. Check /etc/audit/audit.rules: you will find a setting for audit buffers, with a comment "Make this bigger for busy systems". Increase the value and see if the error messages go away.

------------------

microcode: failed to load file amd-ucode/microcode_amd.bin