108796 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

HP-UX 11.11: rpcbind crashes on RPCB_GETVERSADDR

SOLVED
Go to solution
Rudolf Polzer (RBI)

HP-UX 11.11: rpcbind crashes on RPCB_GETVERSADDR

HP-UX kronos B.11.11 U 9000/800 1510700538 unlimited-user license

I am sorry for sending this to the forum, but I found no other way to report this and ask about it because I do not have further access to the HP web site - I am just a part time administrator, the problem is urgent and my boss says that the support contract has expired.

rpcbind often crashes with the following messages in "rpcbind -d":

rpcbind: check_rmtcalls: rpcb_rmtcalls == 0
rpcbind: check_rmtcalls: rpcb_rmtcalls == 0
rpcbind: rpcbs_procinfo: RPCBVERS4 case
rpcbind: rpcb_service_4: RPCBPROC_GETVERSADDR case
rpcbind: rpcbproc_getversaddr_4: RPCB_GETVERSADDR rqst for (100021, 4, udp) from x.x.x.143.128.11 (32779) :
rpcbind: mergeaddr: mergeaddr: contact uaddr = x.x.x.25
Bus error(coredump)
kronos:/root#

x.x.x.143 is a Linux client, by the way, using the current kernel of Fedora Core 6.

I was able to reproduce the crash with a C program that creates this request. It seems to not crash when putting for example x.x.x.25.0.0 as r_addr in the struct rpcb instead, so maybe this request is in fact invalid and caused by a buggy RPC client. But even then, it should never lead to a crash of rpcbind on the server.

How to fix this? Is there maybe a patch that fixes it and it just hasn't been installed yet, in that case, which is the ID of the patch? At the moments our servers are practically unusable because of rpcbind crashing so often and so soon.
10 REPLIES 10
Steven E. Protter
Exalted Contributor

Re: HP-UX 11.11: rpcbind crashes on RPCB_GETVERSADDR

Shalom,

I would say that there is a problem with DNS lookup in the network. Somewhere inconsistent answers are coming up with regards to this Linux host.

if /etc/nsswitch.conf uses files first, you may be able to fix this with an /etc/hosts entry for the Linux host.