1745814 Members
3878 Online
108722 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: HPUX hard drive clone - special case

mohsenof
Occasional Contributor

HPUX hard drive clone - special case

Hi EveryOne I have a HP9000 rp3410 server with HPUX 11iv1 on it. Now I want to clone its single hard drive. I may need it in case of hard failure...

But the problem is I have no other identical hard drives, no other unix-based servers (to use as Iginte-UX server), not even one tape... and maybe the most important: I have limited knowledge in unix world.

The server has USB port, LAN interface and a DVD-Rom

Any thing that can help me is really appreciated. Regards

6 REPLIES 6
Shibin_2
Honored Contributor

>> But the problem is I have no other identical hard drives

What do you mean by? 

Standard offering comes with 2 hard disks.  If the system configured as per the recommended method, then your root volume must be mirrored.

Do vgdisplay vg00 and lvdisplay < to lvs in root volume> to determine this.

Regards
Shibin
mohsenof
Occasional Contributor

Thank you for quick response

My server has just one hard drive

I checked it.

And I said "I have no other identical hard drives" because if I had another identical hard disk, I could create a clone using 'dd' command on the second hard disk. Or at least this is what I've read on internet.

Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

The USB port is useless for two reasons.

First, there are no USB Mass Storage drivers for HP-UX 11iv1. Only 11iv2 and newer can have support for USB storage devices.

Second, even if you used some workarounds (e.g. piping the data over the network to some Linux system) to successfully write an image of the system disk to a USB device, the rp3410 server simply won't boot from a USB device at all: there is no firmware-level support for booting from USB. So recovery after a disk failure would also require clumsy workarounds.