New Discussion

Re: HP-UX slow login (wtmps)

SOLVED
Go to solution
Sachin Rajput
Advisor
Solution

Re: HPUX slow login

I think you asked same in another thread too .

check the size of /var/adm/wtmp and btmp .

big size of these files sometimes makes ssh slow .

Sachin Rajput
===============

Sachin Rajput
================
TalH
Advisor

Thanks! that was it!
Sachin Rajput
Advisor

ThAnks without Kudos ??????

How to assign points? Click the KUDOS! star! .....

Sachin Rajput
================
TalH
Advisor

Sorry, i'm a bit new to this system... 

HPUX-newbie
Occasional Advisor

Sachin - I found that I needed to delete wtmps and btmps, as they were the HUGE files.  Now the bigger question...  How the heck do I keep these files from getting that large in the first place?  Do you know if there is a configuration somewhere that can prevent them growing out of control?

Might be a stupid question, but I am VERY new to HP-UX !

Thanks much!
@Sachin Rajput wrote:
I think you asked same in another thread too .

check the size of /var/adm/wtmp and btmp .

big size of these files sometimes makes ssh slow .

Sachin Rajput
===============

Dennis Handly
Acclaimed Contributor

>How the heck do I keep these files from getting that large in the first place?  Do you know if there is a configuration somewhere that can prevent them growing out of control?

These files grow based on logins.  I doubt you want to restrict those.  ;-)

You need to archive these files elsewhere and reset the EOF when they grow big.

I.e. you need to create a crontab script to do this.  Or tell you to do it manually.

HPUX-newbie
Occasional Advisor

@Dennis Handly wrote:

>How the heck do I keep these files from getting that large in the first place?  Do you know if there is a configuration somewhere that can prevent them growing out of control?

These files grow based on logins.  I doubt you want to restrict those.  ;-)

You need to archive these files elsewhere and reset the EOF when they grow big.