Operating System - HP-UX
1751978 Members
4537 Online
108784 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: How to install and confgiure the printer in HP-UX 10.20 if the network printer in installed in Suse

SOLVED
Go to solution
senthil_kumar_1
Super Advisor

How to install and confgiure the printer in HP-UX 10.20 if the network printer in installed in Suse

Hi All,

I am new to HP-UX printer setup.

Actually I have installed the network printer in Suse Linux.

Now I would like to configure this printer as remote printer in HP-UX 10.20.

Is it possible?

How we can do?
17 REPLIES 17
Dennis Handly
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: How to install and confgiure the printer in HP-UX 10.20 if the network printer in installed in Suse

What type of printer is it?
If it is a network printer, why would you want to install it as remote?
Does Linux allow you to do something fancier than HP-UX?
Pete Randall
Outstanding Contributor

Is it truly a network printer? Does it have a JetDirect network card connecting it to the Lan? If so, check to see if your 10.20 system has the Printer Installer software installed by looking for the "hppi" command. In my 11.11 systems, the command is located in /opt/hpnpl/bin/hppi. If you can find hppi, then you can install the printer as a network printer with the command:

/opt/hpnpl/bin/addqueue -h $IP -q $PRNTR -b off

where $IP is the ip address of the printer and $PRNTR is the queue name it is to be known by on the 10.20 system.

Pete

Pete
senthil_kumar_1
Super Advisor

Hi All,

It is jet direct printer, but in my HP-UX 10.20 the file "/opt/hpnpl/bin/hppi" is not available.

I think HP JetDirect software is not installed on my HP-UX 10.20.

where I can get HP JetDirect software for HP-UX 10.20 and 11.11 from?

Other wise please let me know how to configure the printer installed in suse as remoter printer in HP-UX.

And please let me know what are difficulties in that?
Pete Randall
Outstanding Contributor

JetDirect software is available here: