Operating System - Tru64 Unix
1752405 Members
5866 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: How to install jdk on Digital UNIX V4.0F?

SOLVED
Go to solution
aliali
Occasional Advisor

How to install jdk on Digital UNIX V4.0F?

I am a newbie to Digital Unix. While I trying to find the answer via google, most hitted links lead me to hp.com.

1)What is the relationship between dec and hp?
2)Which company does digital unix belong to?
3)What is the difference between digital unix and tru65 unix?
4)where to find and how to install the jdk for digital unix v4.0F?

Thanks in advance
Hilton Yang
11 REPLIES 11
Michael Schulte zur Sur
Honored Contributor
Solution

Hi Hilton,

1: Once there was DEC, Digital Equipment Corporation, which was bought by Compaq, which was bought now by HP.
2: HP
3: The name changed from Digital Unix to Tru64 Unix with the release 4.0F.
4. The java development kit is on the operating system cd and normally installed with the operating.

greetings,

Michael
aliali
Occasional Advisor

Thanks very much for your kind reponse!

Would you please tell me wether I can download the latest verion of SDK for Tru64 Unix from hp.com and install it on a Digital Unix platform?

Hilton Yang
aliali
Occasional Advisor

Hi Michael;

Thanks for your kind response.

I still have another question. I can not find links to jdk for digital unix or Tru64 unix on the HP.com. Does it mean that I can not use a new jre, for example version 1.4.2, on digital unix until I buy another new HP unix? Is it possible for me to find a download link of jdk 1.4 for my digital unix?

Regards
Hilton Yang
Michael Schulte zur Sur
Honored Contributor

Hi Yang,

look here:
http://h18012.www1.hp.com/java/download/index.html
and you should find, what your heart desires ;-)).

greetings,

Michael
Michael Schulte zur Sur
Honored Contributor

Oops, sorry meant to say Hilton, thats your first name, right?

greetings,

Michael
aliali
Occasional Advisor

Hi Michael;