Operating System - HP-UX
1748268 Members
3508 Online
108760 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: How to migrate (copy or move) the user ids and their home folders from HP-UX 11i v1 to 11i v3

SOLVED
Go to solution
senthil_kumar_1
Super Advisor

How to migrate (copy or move) the user ids and their home folders from HP-UX 11i v1 to 11i v3

Hi All,

I am new to hpux.

I need to migrate (copy or move or using any other method) the user ids and their home folders from HP-UX 11i v1 to 11i v3.

Actually we are having almost 1000 user ids and their home folder in HP-UX 11i v1. now we have built new HP-UX 11i v3 server, we are going to migrate the application running in older version to newer version, so we have to migrate the user ids and their home folders also.

How to do this, please give step by step instructions.
13 REPLIES 13
TARUN SHARMA_1
Advisor
Solution

Re: How to migrate (copy or move) the user ids and their home folders from HP-UX 11i v1 to 11i v3

You can copy /etc/passwd /etc/shadow and /etc/group file to get the users on the new box but for getting the home directories you need to take backup of /home and restore it to the new box at /home. Afterwards you can run pwck to check consistency.
Sr Tech Lead
Tech Mahindra
Data Canter Tubli Bahrain
Jupinder Bedi
Respected Contributor

Firstly let me know if it is a trusted system or not if not than follow the following steps

scp /etc/passwd server2:/etc/passwd
scp /etc/shadow server2:/etc/shadow

Than copy the all the user names in one file ( file1 )like below

user1
user2
user3
and so on

than run the following script and copy all the home directories of all the users to another server . Let say home directory in 11i is /home/username

for i in `cat file1`
do
scp -rp /home/$i server2:/home/
done

and if it is trusted system than you also need to do the /tcb/auth/files directory by using the above script and there is no need to copy the shadow file .

All things excellent are as difficult as they are rare