New Discussion

How to start

SOLVED
Go to solution
rustam_2
Super Advisor

How to start

Hi All.
I'm a newbie in HP-UX. In few months we'll get new HP servers, where have been installed HP-UX 11i v3. I'm a windows servers admin, that's why never used *nix's OS. I wanna have some experience before we’ll get our new HP servers. is it available to download this version of HP-UX, install my PC (by using Virtual OS) and learn. are there any e-books for beginners?

P.S. on those HP servers, i'm gonna install and use database-oracle 10g r2.
19 REPLIES 19
Stephan.
Honored Contributor

Re: How to start

Hi,
without any *nix experience you will have a lot to learn. If you have a lot of command line know how in windows this could help a little bit.

>>is it available to download this version of HP-UX, install my PC (by using Virtual OS)
You can install hp-ux only on hp 9000 Hardware, which means PA-RISC or Itanium, as far as i know there is no wirtulization software which emulates this.

Good books (my personal favor's, just google for the Title):
- Unix in a Nutshell
- Unix Power Tools
- Learning Perl
- HP Professional Series (this are several books as training for the certification)

hth
Michal Kapalka (mikap)
Honored Contributor

hi,

the HP-UX could be installed only on PA-RiSC or Itanium CPU.

very good documentation is on

docs.hp.com

or read this book :

Prentice Hall HP-UX CSE Official Study Guide and Desk Reference

is older but i think the one from best, or

Software Recovery Book, on this forum you will find lot of links to his book.

mikap

Ganesan R
Honored Contributor

Hi,

First of all, HP-UX will not run on x86 hardware. You need either PA-RISC or Itanium servers from HP to install and HP_UX is not available to download. You have to buy from HP.

You can learn HP-UX from here.

http://docs.hp.com/en/oshpux11iv3.html#System%20Administration
Best wishes,

Ganesh.
rustam_2
Super Advisor

thanks a lot for all of you.