1751786 Members
4988 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion

Java

dwd13
Occasional Visitor

Java

HP SIM 7.1 install on Linux.  Post install verfication with mxinitconfig -l turns up the following java related error:

mxinitconfig: error while loading shared libraries: libjvm.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory.

I just can't seem to get around it.  I even installed the java version that come with the install.  Any suggestions on next step would be greatly appreciated.   

5 REPLIES 5
Dennis Handly
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: Java

>libjvm.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory.

Have you tried setting LD_LIBRARY_PATH to point to the directory of that shlib?

Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Disclaimer: I have no experience on HP SIM, but plenty on resolving library issues in general.

You left out some rather essential basic information.

What's the name and version of your Linux distribution? 64-bit or 32-bit?

If you cd to the directory that contains the mxinitconfig command and run "ldd mxinitconfig | grep libjvm", what is the output?

If it says "libjvm.so => not found", then mxinitconfig requires libjvm.so to be findable using one of the paths listed either in /etc/ld.so.conf (or /etc/ld.so.conf.d/*.conf in newer distributions), or in LD_LIBRARY_PATH environment variable.

If there is no output at all, then mxinitconfig may be a script, or a binary that loads the Java libraries dynamically only after it's started executing. I would guess that JAVA_HOME would be the standard environment variable used to find the Java libraries in that case.