Operating System - HP-UX
1753774 Members
6578 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Migrate UX 10.2 to New Server

unixfirstimer

Migrate UX 10.2 to New Server

Hi, I am a complete novice with Unix, and have been tasked with migrating from a HP9000 D220 to HP900O D250.(Dont ask!) I have got as far as installing HP UX, but cannot seem to configure the volumes. The volumes on the old box were 4.2 GB, the new ones are 9 GB. I also cannot access our database. I would appreciate any help. Thanks.
2 REPLIES 2
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

Welcome to the ITRC Forums!

If you're truly a beginner with Unix, you've received a rather challenging task for your skill level.

First, an important thing to know would be the disk configuration of your D220 system.
Could you please run "bdf" on it and paste the output to this thread? Feel free to obscure any directory names related to your organization or other sensitive information if necessary: I'm only interested in the general layout of the system.

Second, you mention a database. This is not a standard feature of the HP-UX OS: it's probably a separate product like Oracle or IBM DB2. As it's currently running on a 10.20 system, it's sure to be some ancient version that's been out of any official support for quite a while. Do you have any more information about the database?

Third, if you have problems with disks, it might be necessary for us to know more details about your hardware configuration. The easiest way would probably be a full ioscan listing.

Fourth, it would be easier to help you if you described in detail what you've managed to do so far, what you're trying to do now and exactly how it's failing.

When run using the root account, this command will generate a text file in /tmp directory, which you could then attach to this thread:

ioscan -fn > /tmp/ioscan-listing.txt