Mirroring ---urgent help required ********

SOLVED
Go to solution
Trng
Super Advisor

Mirroring ---urgent help required ********

Dear Gurus,

my customer is having HP Storage box and it is connected to many hpux boxes

Storage got ful and customer has purchased Netapp storgae .as a HPUX Sysadmin i have lot

of task ahead.

1-mirrorus is reqd for mirroring vgs/lvs in hpux ?

2-without mirrorux can we mirror the root lvols in hpux (lvextend тАУm 1 /dev/vg00/lvol11 /dev/dsk/c0t0d0)

3-many luns are assigned from hp storage and craeted a filesystem.
is it possible to mirror this filesystem to the new storage (assign luns from netapp and create logical volume )--from os level canw e do it ? any software reqd ?

4-is it possible to mirror a VG to newly added vg(netapp)..any software required for this ?

regards
trng
administrator
9 REPLIES 9
Analyst
Trusted Contributor

Re: Mirroring ---urgent help required ********

Hi Trng,

1. mirroring requires mirror-UX software.

2. You can create a new filesystem and copy the entire thing with normal coying principle.

3. There is one concept called DRD with that we can create boot disk from storage.

4.From storage you should have RAID concept please confirm that.

Thanks,
Analyst.
ASIFKHAN
Frequent Advisor
Solution

Hi,

First thing you did not specify the name of the HP storage Box and also the model number of host connected to Storage .Is it SAN storage or NAS Storage.

Answer to possiblility to mirror rootvg without MirrorDisk Software at OS level is no,So u should have Mirrordisk to mirror LV's but There are some latest hardware server(rx2660) of HP has inbuilt RAID SCSI controller card that is helpful in mirroring it is also called Hardware mirroring.