108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Oracle stop development on itanium

SOLVED
Go to solution
Tony Iams

Hi all,

I am an analyst at the IT research firm Ideas International, and I am trying to assess the impact of Oracle's decision to stop supporting Itanium.

I created a poll asking which possible alternatives users might consider for the Oracle database on HP-UX:
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/QR69RTN

If you stop by, I will post the results in a few days.

Regards,

Tony Iams
Senior Analyst, System Software Research
Ideas International, Inc.
tonyi@ideasinternational.com
TwoProc
Honored Contributor

You can't stop Oracle from doing it... but I still hate it...

Apparently, it's "All aboard the Alzhy train with Oracle on Linux" ...

:-) :-( :-) :-(

Keep an eye on Alzhy's postings, he's already stepped in a lot of the holes that I feel we're soon destined to step in ourselves as well... :-) :-( :-) :-(

We are the people our parents warned us about --Jimmy Buffett
TwoProc
Honored Contributor

Tony - "Oracle on Linux" - not there?
We are the people our parents warned us about --Jimmy Buffett
Shibin_2
Honored Contributor

Though HP and Intel says, they will continue to support Itanium ( in fact Oracle too says, they will give support to existing customers ), the real pain is for HP only. Most ERP solutions with HP-UX, SAP utilizes Oracle DB.

SAP owns Sybase database. Whey they haven't tried an alternate on this yet? SAP could utilize their own DB and can dominant in ERP solutions (still they are) without an help. But something out there.

This strategy could have been expected an year ago, when Oracle tightened their agreement and contracts with those who own old SUN machines. It is a burden for those customers. Now, it is trying to boosting their business and beating others.

Competition is good, but it shouldn't be worsen for others.