Operating System - Tru64 Unix
1752295 Members
5255 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Panic during boot; scrolls by too quickly too read

Cat Zimmermann

Panic during boot; scrolls by too quickly too read

I'm using a Digital AlphaPC 164LX, which I have very little experience with.

I'm trying to boot from the OpenVMS console into Digital Unix 4.0f, but there is a panic during what I think is the PCI device configuration (after a monitor resolution change), and I get a halt request with a code of 5.

Is there a way to scroll lock / pause or otherwise get a readable log of the boot process? It flashes by way too quickly.

I don't want to reinstall the OS, but I can successfully boot off the installation CD.
6 REPLIES 6
Michael Schulte zur Sur
Honored Contributor

Re: Panic during boot; scrolls by too quickly too read

Hi,

you can try to leave the installation procedure and then mount the system disk and look into messages.

greetings,

Michael
Cat Zimmermann

As I understand it, the OpenVMS console knows nothing about the filesystem on the disk, so it cannot normally write to a log.

Is it the case that once booting off the disk has started (reading vmlinux) that the boot process can write to the filesystem on the disk?
Michael Schulte zur Sur
Honored Contributor

The console reads the boot record and that in turn reads the next files necessary for booting. I think, you will find messages in the log. Another try could be to boot with the generic kernel in case there are new devices in the system.
b -fi genvmunix
Has this worked before?

Michael
Cat Zimmermann

This has booted properly in the past, and as far as I know the hardware hasn't been changed. It was out of my hands for more than 6 months, however.

I tried your suggestion, and used generic kernel genvmunix, but the same sequence of events happened.

There are at least two PCI devices that 'cannot be configured.'