New Discussion юеВ

Re: Patching/updating a system

SOLVED
Go to solution
Mike Kaufman
Occasional Contributor

Patching/updating a system

Hi all,
I've sorta been handed this role of "keep these HP systems up and alive". I have some HP sysadmin experience in the past, so I know my way around unix in general and swinstall and other HP-specifics.
I've done patching in the past, but it's always been onsie-twosie. These systems are SO out of date that I'm sure I'll need to apply some patch bundles.
Here's my dilema: how do I know WHAT to install? I know I'm going to make many eyes roll with this analogy, but is there some kind of "Windows Update" equivalent on HP that will tell me "go and get this service-pack/patch-bundle" or "go get this individual patch cuz you need it."

I HAVE downloaded the Security Patch perl thingie, and it gives me a list of 80 things to do. Do I really have to go and check each PHSS, PHNE, & PHCO individual patch listed and find the most recent "superceded by" and install them all individually??
That seems awfully... inefficient.

Help?

-Mike
7 REPLIES 7
Alan Meyer_4
Respected Contributor
Solution

At this point, I'd get the latest GOLD patch bundle and install it and you should be fine.

You can find the latest for your version of HPUX here http://www2.itrc.hp.com/service/patch/releaseIndexPage.do?BC=patch.breadcrumb.main|
" I may not be certified, but I am certifiable... "
James R. Ferguson
Acclaimed Contributor

Hi Mike:

The standard patch bundles available from the ITRC Patch Database or via SUM are cumulative. Thus, you can bring your system very up-to-date by installing the most recent bundles.

Another advantage to using these collections is that they represent the best tested, broadest set:

http://www1.itrc.hp.com/service/patch/releaseIndexPage.do?BC=patch.breadcrumb.main|

In the page link above are other links that will help you understand the content, terminology and release cycles.