4337 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: PowerBroker Documentation for HP-UX

ashutosh99
Frequent Advisor

PowerBroker Documentation for HP-UX

Hi All,

I'm new to PowerBroker and haven't seen its user manuals on the internet. I have some taks, which need to be done with the help of PowerBroker. Since, I can't use "sudo" for audit reasons, I've to get familiar with PowerBroker soon.

So, I request all you guys to please share the user manuals, admin guides or any documentation you have with you regarding PowerBroker. I went to their site "BeyondTrust", but they don't have any proper documentation.

Regards,

Ashutosh 

4 REPLIES 4
Matti_Kurkela
Honored Contributor

PowerBroker is commercial software, so I would expect that the documentation is copyrighted unless it explicitly says otherwise. Sharing such documentation without an express permission from BeyondTrust would be a copyright violation.

The documentation for open versions of their software would seem to be available here:

http://www.beyondtrust.com/Resources/OpenSourceDocumentation/

There are also the Administration and Installation Guides for the Enterprise versions. If this is not "proper documentation", then I don't know what you're looking for.

(The route from the www.beyondtrust.com main page to that page is just 3 clicks: Support -> Content Library -> Open Source Documentation. )

The current full name of their main product would seem to be "PowerBroker Identity Services" or PBIS for short. There is an open edition of PBIS available for free, and its full documentation is available too. I would expect that most things you can learn from the open version would be applicable to the commercial Enterprise version too.

MK
ashutosh99
Frequent Advisor

Hi Matti,