108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: QLogic driver for QMH2426 FC HBA problem

SOLVED
Go to solution
Jakub Stuglik

QLogic driver for QMH2426 FC HBA problem

Hi.

I have a problem installing and bringing to use SAN connection on Fedora Core 8 (kernel 2.6.23.1-42.fc8).
I'm total newbie to this so I'd like to ask you for your help if you should be kind enough. I couldn't find anything useful on google so far.
I know also that Fedora Core distribution is not supported by QLogic, but it is quite important to me not to change my OS.

OK. Here is how it is. I have a HP Blade BL460c server with HP BLc QLogic QMH2426 FC HBA. There is QLA2xxx driver installed. As I mentioned before I am a newbie so I don't know if there is some problem or if I am the problem (meaning I can't mount my SAN area:-) ).
I attached the snippet from /var/log/messages regarding the matter (with some other things mixed in probably).

Please take a look at that and tell me what should I do with this to make it work (e.g. see it mounted at /mnt/SAN and use it). Thank you for all the replies in advance.

Best regards,
Jakub Stuglik

6 REPLIES 6
Jakub Stuglik

I forgot to mention an important thing: there should be RAID 5 set up on the SAN (so I guess that's why there is 4 disks sda through sdd in the attached log).

Jakub Stuglik
Jimmy Vance
HPE Pro
Solution

The RAID level of the storage doesn't make a difference, the HBA nor the OS will see that. From looking at the log, you only have one port of the HBA presented to the SAN. The SAN probably has multiple paths into the fabric which is why you see four disks. I take it you are only presenting one LUN to the server. You need to enable device mapper MPIO to handle the multiple paths so you end up seeing one LUN device

If you present the other HBA port to the storage you will see eight paths to the same LUN instead of four as you see now without the multipath daemon running.

No support by private messages. Please ask the forum! 
Jakub Stuglik