New Discussion юеВ

Question about execute and read bits

SOLVED
Go to solution
David Yandry
Frequent Advisor

Question about execute and read bits

Hi,

I'm studying for the CSA exam and I have a question. Do both the read bit and the execute bit have to be set so that the file can be executed by a regular user? My study materials say yes but I thought I remembered seeing a thread that said that was not true.

Does anyone remember that thread or know the answer for sure?

TIA,
David
6 REPLIES 6
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor
Solution

Re: Question about execute and read bits

Well David, this is a tough question not because of the question itself. The correct answer is a resounding "NO" -- only the execute bit must be set BUT that may not be the correct test answer. If the question, for example, pertains to a shell script then the read bit is also necessary but in the strictest sense, a shell script is not an executable because it relies upon an underlying true executable (the shell) to actually execute.
If it ain't broke, I can fix that.
A. Clay Stephenson
Acclaimed Contributor

Oh, and this is one of those questions that you should ask the box itself; on account of, I might lie to you and whatever study guides you may be using may lie to you but the box don't lie. Try this:

Create a small file, hello.c:
----------------------------------
int main()
{
(void) printf("Hello World!\n");
return(0);
}
-----------------------------------
Now compile it:
cc hello.c -o hello

Now, let's set ONLY the execute for the file owner (presumably you):
chmod 100 hello

Now let's try to execute it:
hello

If you see "Hello World!" then only the execute is necessary; otherwise you also need the read bit.

Q.E.D.

Sadly, however, this may or may not tell you what is the "correct" test answer.
Roboz
Frequent Advisor

Hello David,