cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Server Won't boot

Robert Peregrin
Frequent Advisor

Server Won't boot

Hi,

One of our Server HP rp3440 failes to boot. The following message are seen in the console:

HARD Booted.

ISL Revision A.00.43 Apr 12, 2000

ISL booting hpux

Boot
: disk(0/1/1/1.2.0.0.0.0.0;0)/stand/vmunix
11214848 + 2129920 + 2330312 start 0x1fa4e8



alloc_pdc_pages: Relocating PDC from 0xfffffff0f0c00000 to 0x3f900000.
gate64: sysvec_vaddr = 0xc0002000 for 2 pages
NOTICE: nfs3_link(): File system was registered at index 3.
NOTICE: autofs_link(): File system was registered at index 6.
NOTICE: cachefs_link(): File system was registered at index 7.
probe: port 1 overcurrent 0x0
probe: port 3 overcurrent 0x0
probe: port 1 overcurrent 0x0
igelan0: INITIALIZING HP PCI 1000Base-T Core at hardware path 0/1/2/0

System Console is on the Built-In Serial Interface
Logical volume 64, 0x3 configured as ROOT
Logical volume 64, 0x2 configured as SWAP
Logical volume 64, 0x2 configured as DUMP
Swap device table: (start & size given in 512-byte blocks)
entry 0 - major is 64, minor is 0x2; start = 0, size = 8388608
DIAGNOSTIC SYSTEM WARNING:
The diagnostic logging facility has started receiving excessive
errors from the I/O subsystem. I/O error entries will be lost
until the cause of the excessive I/O logging is corrected.
If the diaglogd daemon is not active, use the Daemon Startup command
in stm to start it.
If the diaglogd daemon is active, use the logtool utility in stm
to determine which I/O subsystem is logging excessive errors.


I would appreciate if someone can help me know what to do to make the server come up.
21 REPLIES
rariasn
Honored Contributor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi:

DIAGNOSTIC SYSTEM are when the system is running (rc2)

/sbin/rc2.d/S742diagnostic

rgs,

Bill Hassell
Honored Contributor

Re: Server Won't boot

With these errors, I would suspect the boot disk is not working. If you have the boot disk mirrored, you can try booting from the alternate disk.


Bill Hassell, sysadmin
Robert Peregrin
Frequent Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

Thanks Bill.

Unfortunately, we don't have mirroring on the disk.

Do you think that we may fix the problem if I shut it down via the MP console then maybe reset (pullout and plugin of the hard disk?

Regards,
Robert
Prashanth.D.S
Honored Contributor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi Robert,

Try booting the system into single user mode and check if that helps ..

Interrupt at BCH and try -is option

Best Regards,
Prashanth
Robert Peregrin
Frequent Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

Thanks Prashanth.

Nothing appears in the Console window when we press the enter key. How can we make the prompt appear to issue commands?

Regards,

Robert
Prashanth.D.S
Honored Contributor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi Robert,

Reboot the machine interrupt when you are at BCH and follow the instruction given in the artilce ..

http://docs.hp.com/en/B2355-90950/ch05s01.html#bgejgjjh

Booting into Single-User Mode :

Best Regards,
Prashanth
Hakki Aydin Ucar
Honored Contributor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi,

If you have a recent ignite backup, it is no problem, you can call HP have Disk changed ,then install from ignite backup in worst case.
chris huys_4
Honored Contributor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi Robert,

Its not necessarly the bootdisk, who has a hardware problem. It could be one of the other disks that the system has to access, who is causing the system during bootup, to be flooded with I/O errors. Shutdown the system, pull out any additional internal disks, pull any fc/scsi cables connecting the system, to external storage and try to boot the system again if it then works, then check the logs, mstm disk logs in /var/stm/logs/os, should allready have some entries about what disk is causing the errors.

Greetz,
Chris

Robert Peregrin
Frequent Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi,

We tried to interrupt boot of the server but nothing shows in the screen but cursor even if we press different keys.

There are no I/O device connected to the server. It is only connected to a Switch from its ethernet ports.


Regards,

Robert Peregrin
HP-UX_Ali
Regular Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hello Robert,

You can take your labtop to DC & connect it with console to interrupt the boot sequence and to go in single user mode
but as you say if nothing works.... then bad news is system is totally down. you have to replace the boot disk and do fresh installation from CD or re-ignite it and then store your data. which ever you prefer.
Note : To do some diagnostic or troubleshooting.. you need to go to single user mode.

Thanks

Ali

Robert Peregrin
Frequent Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

Below is the logs from our last attempt to boot the server:

- - - - - - - - - - - - Live Console - - - - - - - - - - - -



Firmware Version 45.44

Duplex Console IO Dependent Code (IODC) revision 1


******* Unexpected TOC. Processor HPA FFFFFFFF'FE780000 *******
GENERAL REGISTERS:
r00/03 00000000'00000000 00000000'00CCEE98 00000000'00000000 00000000'01479000
r04/07 00000000'00000001 00000000'00000000 00000000'01479000 00000000'00000000
r08/11 00000000'014799B0 00000000'00000001 0000001D'57F17139 0000001D'57F17139
r12/15 00000000'00CD1698 00000000'0147C268 00000000'00000064 00000000'00000000
r16/19 00000000'00000000 00000000'00030720 00000000'00000008 00000000'00000000
r20/23 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000
r24/27 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000 00000000'00CD4698
r28/31 00000000'00000000 00000000'0C610240 00000000'0C610270 00000000'00000000
CONTROL REGISTERS:
sr0/3 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000 00000000'0A2EF000 00000000'00000000
sr4/7 00000000'00000000 00000000'FFFFFFFF 00000000'0A2EF000 00000000'00000000
pcq = 00000000'00000000.00000000'0017A37C 00000000'00000000.00000000'0017A380
isr = 00000000'10240031 ior = 00000000'842110D0 iir = 83203B47 rctr = 7FFFFA86

pid reg cr8/cr9 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000
pid reg cr12/cr13 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000
ipsw = 000000FF'0804FF0F iva = 00000000'0002A000 sar = 13 ccr = C0
tr0/3 00000000'01479000 00000000'00CCFE98 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000001
tr4/7 00000000'00000000 0000005B'ADFF790F 00000000'0016E690 00000000'0C610270
eiem = FFFFFFF0'FFFFFFFF eirr = 00000000'00000000 itmr = 0000005B'AE2E02C8
cr1/4 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000
cr5/7 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000 00000000'00000000
MACHINE CHECK PARAMETERS:
Check Type = 00000000 CPU STATE = 9E000000 Cache Check = 00000000
TLB Check = 00000000 Bus Check = 00000000 PIM State = ? SIU Status = ????????
Assists = 00000000 Processor = 00000000
Slave Addr = 00000000'00000000 Master Addr = 00000000'00000000


TOC, pcsq.pcoq = 0'0.0'17a37c , isr.ior = 0'10240031.0'842110d0
@(#) $Revision: vmunix: vw: -proj selectors: CUPI80_BL2000_1108 -c 'Vw for CUPI80_BL2000_1108 build' -- cupi80_bl2000_1108 'CUPI80_BL2000_1108' Wed Nov 8 19:24:56 PST 2000 $Transfer of control: (display==0xd904, flags==0x0)
Processor 2 TOC: pcsq.pcoq = 0'0.0'2011c8
isr.ior = 0'14340005.0'20080100



*** A system crash has occurred. (See the above messages for details.)
*** The system is now preparing to dump physical memory to disk, for use
*** in debugging the crash.

ERROR: Can't perform early dump to LVM dump device.



Firmware Version 45.44

Duplex Console IO Dependent Code (IODC) revision 1
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
(c) Copyright 1995-2004, Hewlett-Packard Company, All rights reserved
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Processor Speed State CoProcessor State Cache Size
Number State Inst Data
--------- -------- --------------------- ----------------- ------------
0 800 MHz Active Functional 67108864 67108864
1 800 MHz Idle Functional 67108864 67108864

Central Bus Speed (in MHz) : 200
Available Memory : 4194304 KB
Good Memory Required : Not initialized. Defaults to 32 MB.

Primary boot path: 0/1/1/1.2
Alternate boot path: 0/0/2/0.3
Console path: 0/7/1/1.0
Keyboard path: 0/0/4/0.0


Processor is booting from the first available device.

To discontinue, press any key within 10 seconds.

10 seconds expired.
Proceeding...

Trying Primary Boot Path
------------------------
Booting...
Boot IO Dependent Code (IODC) revision 1


HARD Booted.

ISL Revision A.00.43 Apr 12, 2000

ISL booting hpux

Boot
: disk(0/1/1/1.2.0.0.0.0.0;0)/stand/vmunix
11214848 + 2129920 + 2330312 start 0x1fa4e8




alloc_pdc_pages: Relocating PDC from 0xfffffff0f0c00000 to 0x3f900000.
gate64: sysvec_vaddr = 0xc0002000 for 2 pages
NOTICE: nfs3_link(): File system was registered at index 3.
NOTICE: autofs_link(): File system was registered at index 6.
NOTICE: cachefs_link(): File system was registered at index 7.
probe: port 1 overcurrent 0x0
probe: port 3 overcurrent 0x0
probe: port 1 overcurrent 0x0
igelan0: INITIALIZING HP PCI 1000Base-T Core at hardware path 0/1/2/0

System Console is on the Built-In Serial Interface
Logical volume 64, 0x3 configured as ROOT
Logical volume 64, 0x2 configured as SWAP
Logical volume 64, 0x2 configured as DUMP
Swap device table: (start & size given in 512-byte blocks)


Seems like the server is booting but I don't know why it is not reaching the console prompt and the console is just showing no characters when we tried to interrupt the boot.
djoshi
Frequent Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

Your are right, system is able to see the boot device.

Are you able to get prompt in single user mode?
if yes, just for checking.... can you run fsck and see?

Secondly, also try to boot interactively.
Robert Peregrin
Frequent Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi Djoshi,

I can't boot in singel user or interactively as the console prompt is not appearing and I can't type anything. Is there any combination of keyboard keys that I can use to possibly make the console prompt appear?


Regards,

Robert
Bill Hassell
Honored Contributor

Re: Server Won't boot

CTRL-B on the console will bring up the maintenance menu. However, nothing will be shown if you are using the wrong cable, or set the terminal to the wrong baud rate. Are you using a real terminal or a laptop for your console?


Bill Hassell, sysadmin
Robert Peregrin
Frequent Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi Bill,

I can go to the MP Main Menu. I actually restarted the server through there via command TC and RS. But when I'm going to the console (CL from MP Main Menu), I can see that the server is booting but I cannot interrupt it to do the boot to single user mode.


Regards,

Robert
Ravi Subramanian
Occasional Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi Robert,

It seems your console has some problem to connect server when you type cl from MP main menu. Just try to reset your console. Go to command menu and reset console using XD command.
Then try to interrupt server booting from console.

Thx,
Ravi S
chris huys_4
Honored Contributor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi Robert,

Comeon Robert, log a call with hp hardware support and get the vg00 disk replaced and then restore from backup, the data to the, replacement disk.

If the OS doesnt want to boot further because of hardware problems, you will not get the problem resolved, until the hardware problems are resolved.

Greetz,
Chris
PS. So no, there is nothing wrong with the mp console.
Robert Peregrin
Frequent Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi Chris,

The bad situation is that we don't have hardware support yet. Since the disk is not completely non-reactive, I was hoping that file system check might have some chance to resolve the problem but I just can't interrupt the boot process.

Regards,

Robert
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

Re: Server Won't boot

>> But when I'm going to the console (CL from MP Main Menu), I can see that the server is booting but I cannot interrupt it to do the boot to single user mode.



Pull the disks and the system will stop at boot console handler.

If you connect via MP (network) you maybe need to press CTRL e c f before you can input anything.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

__________________________________________________
There are only 10 types of people in the world -
those who understand binary, and those who don't.

__________________________________________________
No support by private messages. Please ask the forum!

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Robert Peregrin
Frequent Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

Hi Chris,

There was a problem in the MP. We were able to access the console after resetting it.


Regards,

Robert
Robert Peregrin
Frequent Advisor

Re: Server Won't boot

We are trying to renew our Hardware Support Contract with HP. Then we will deal with this problem.